top of page

Sfusso


Sfuso literally means "unbottled wine" and my go to place for table wine. My local Sfusso is a warm inviting place where I learn how to use wine in my recipes. One of the owners' is from South America. She taught me how to make wine vinegar without a mother. A few pieces of pasta in a wine left for three months is enough to turn wine into vinegar.

Each week I make a trip to my local sfusso to select table wines for the week. It is not pratical to open a bottle of Amarone or Sterling Merlot from Napa every week. My budget doesn't allow for such luxuries. My local sfusso is envirnomentally friendly and fits my teachers budget. I bring back an empty bottle or two and request a Chardonnay or Vermentino or if I am in the mood for a red I may select Nero D'Vola or Tuscan Merlot.

For two bottles of wine I usually pay around five euro whereas a bottle of Amarone will set me back sixty euro easily. I can pick up a litter of red or wine to top off my barrel of vinegar just as easily as I can pick a bottle to make a sauce for a new recipe. My local Sfusso is also a place where I can be a wine geek and ask as many questions as I like to increase my knowledge.

Go local, help the environment and shop at you local Sfusso. Keep exploring fellow Gastronomer!

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page