top of page

Old School

Cooking low and slow has its advantages. A simple approach to cooking is a wonderful approach to gastronomy- An egg salad sandwich, apple yogurt cake and Persian yogurt are simple food that have been around for centuries. Most people would call this type of food ‘old school’ and they would not be wrong. But, what is wrong with old school?

Old school recipes tend to be based on whole food not processed food. Persian yogurt soup (ash-me) has a few variations. In fact, the soup can be served at room temperature or cold. The apple yogurt cake is both seasonal and easy to make. Everyone generally has eggs in their fridge add dijon mustard and mayonnaise and lunch is served.

All food has a genesis the starting point of its creation. By discovering the genesis of food we can find our way back to what ‘farm to the table’ truly means. I am a huge fan of molecular gastronomy but I am also a huge fan of broccoli. To date my mother is still mystified that my favorite way to eat broccoli is streamed with a little salt. I prefer my salad without dressing and I have never met a cheese I didn’t like.

Being a Gastronomer doesn’t mean forgetting the past. Instead we must sometimes look to the past in order to better define the here and now. Bon vivant.

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page