top of page

Comfort Food


As the leave turn and the weather becomes colder I often crave comfort food. Here in Italy there is Pasta al Forno which is very similar to what we Americans call Macaroni and Cheese. Finding cheddar cheese here is incredibly challenging and expensive. For me a combination of mascarpone and Swiss Emmentaler makes for a creamy cheese sauce that is delicate and full of flavor.

Other times when I want from top to bottom different flavor profile I look to India and I make a Dahl and Chipati bread. A big bowl of soup or braised lamb all complemented with a glass of wine allows me to relax and reflect on the changes happening all around me. To satisfy my sweet tooth my new favorite is a baked crisp which can be put together with a few simple ingredients. My summer of experimenting has lead to simple cake recipes that even the most baking challenge can find success.

Chipati Bread.JPG

Autumn is the time for change and exploration. Harvesting is now complete in the vineyards and the grapes have been crushed. Now is the time for comfort.

Bon Vivant!

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page