top of page

Meal Planning

Each week I take time out to plan out my menu for the next week. The reason behind my actions is that meal planning allows me to create greater diversity in the types of foods I eat. It is as well a great cost saving method. In fact, the more I eat food from home the less I buy food on the street. A farmers sandwich transport easily and is hearty. There are off course health benefits; falafel with a yogurt sauce is delicious and healthy. Less processed, fried or sodium rich food.

Pear Crisps w Yogurt.JPG

This summer I spent time learning how to bake. While I will never be a pastry chef I did learn how to make Banana cake with salted caramel sauce that can satisfy just about any craving. Meal planning is about creativity, repeatability and options. The first step is to look in your pantry and see what items you have it could be rice, beans, potatoes, fruits or vegetables. Once you know what's in your pantry you start to build your meal plan. You can plan for one meal or do as I do I and plan for a week of meals. For breakfast last week I had pear crisps and for lunch chicken with a sauce made of white wine and onions over fried polenta then for dinner macaroni salad.

Salted crusted fish.JPG

By planning out my meals I save so much time during the week. My days can start as early as 8,00 in the morning and end as late as 9,00 at night. To be able to grab food and walk out the door swiftly is important. When I get home late being able to have a healthy meal on the table in 15 minutes or less makes weeknights less stressful. Meal planning is a Gastronomers best tool. Keep exploring Gastronomer.

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page