top of page

Why we eat: Food

About four years ago I went on a physician monitored diet. I was then as I am now in great health and wasn’t given any reason to lose weight. However, at the time I was living in Los Angeles, California land of the superficial. After much resistance I looked in the mirror and decided to make a change. The diet was extreme to say the least. So extreme that for my birthday I abstained from my favorite three layered chocolate cake which is like asking a dying man to abstain from water while stuck in the middle of the desert.

My take away from this experience is that I NEVER want to experience that type of restrictive eating again. I accomplished my goal but the maintenance of my goal weight is always a proverbial challenge. Living in Europe where the body types differ dramatically from what I am use to in the US has been a bit of an adjustment. I love cooking and eating good food. At the same time I have zero desire to balloon up to my former weight again. Food is my passion so I am learning how to strike a balance.

Processed foods are limited from my diet. Fruits and vegetables are in heavy rotation on a daily basis. Saturated fats are limited as are alcohol. Italians love their wine but a glass or two is the normal even during a celebration. My belief is that everything in balance can make for a healthier diet and life. Food is a critical part of life for all people and should not be made into the enemy. While butter, creamy sauces and my absolute favorite chocolate cannot not be apart of my everyday menu they most certainly make appearances from time to time.

As a Gastronomer my goal is to celebrate food because food is one of the sustenances that makes life enjoyable

Bon vivant fellow Gastronomer|

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page